LIST OF PACE ACCEPTED STATES FROM THE FCLB

States that Accept PACE

States that accept PACE without "Pre-Check" or additional application to the State regulatory board.  

Please review your State to ensure the provisions and restrictions for CEU content and format are met before taking any course that you intend to use to satisfy your CEU requirements for licensure.

Alaska

32 hours per 2 year renewal cycle

  • Distance Allowed: No more than 16 hours per renewal cycle
  • 8 hours in diagnostic imaging/X-ray; 2 hours coding and documentation; 2 hours in ethics and boundaries; 2 hours in CPR

Connecticut

48 hours per 2 year renewal cycle

  • Distance Allowed: 48 hours per renewal cycle - must include a self-assessment
  • Must include 1 hr ethics; 1 hr informed consent; 1 hr risk management, laws & rules, including informed consent; 2 hrs every 6 years in mental health conditions common to veterans and their families (does not pre-approve)

District of Columbia

24 hours per 2 year renewal cycle

  • Distance Allowed: 24 hours per renewal cycle

Idaho

18 hours per 1 year renewal cycle

  • Distance Allowed: 18 hours per renewal cycle
  • Licensees MUST read both Rules 350 and 351 to ensure courses are in line with board standards.

Indiana

24 hours per 2 year renewal cycle / maximum 12 hours per year

  • Distance Allowed: 0
  • 4 hours of approved courses in public health and/or risk management per year; practice management prohibited

Iowa

40 hours per 2 year renewal cycle (July 1 to June 30)

  • Distance Allowed: Up to 16 hours in clinical case management per renewal cycle 36 hours in clinical practice (see above for distance limitations); 2 in professional boundaries; 1 hr in Iowa administrative code; 12 in acupuncture, if certified

Kansas

15 month update: 50 hours  (minimum 20 hours in Cat I); 30 month update: 100 hours  (minimum 40 hours in Cat I); 42 month update: 150 hours (minimum 60 hours in Cat I) 

  • Distance Allowed: No limit
  • Category I: Structured, interactive, formal learning;  Category II: Indirectly related to healing arts skills and knowledge (see KS website for more information

Maine

48 hours per 2 year renewal cycle

  • Distance Allowed: 12 hours per renewal cycle
  • Category 1 - includes documented physical attendance, subject material related to the concepts of chiropractic principles and practice including, but not limited to, diagnostic procedures, patient care and management; Category 2 - includes instruction, writing on health subjects for publication, participation in accreditation and exam programs, self-instruction, peer review, professional self-assessment programs, CPR certification, wellness programs, others as approved by the board

Maryland

48 hours per 2 year renewal cycle

  • Distance Allowed: 48 hours per renewal cycle
  • 5 hours in risk management including 1 hour in jurisprudence and 3 hours communicable disease training

Massachusetts

12 hours per 1 year renewal cycle (April 1 - May 31)

  • Distance Allowed: 12 hours per renewal cycle
  • Allowable subject matter includes clinical proficiency, philosophy and ethics, jurisprudence, or the human and biological sciences; Courses devoted to administrative or economic aspects of practice shall not be approved for continuing education credit.

Minnesota

20 hours per 1 year renewal cycle

  • Distance Allowed: 20 hours per renewal cycle
  • 20-hour requirement must include 3 hours in radiology/advanced imaging, 1 hour in professional boundaries, 2 hours in acupuncture (if registered), 6 hours in addition to the 20 hours in animal chiropractic (if registered).  Note professional boundaries refers to preserving the Doctor/Patient relationship.

Montana

13 hours per 1 year renewal cycle

  • Distance Allowed: 13 hours per renewal cycle
  • No more than 2 hours of philosophy or practice management; 1 hour of professional ethics and boundaries required

Nebraska

36 hours per 2 year renewal cycle (August 1 - July 31)

  • Distance Allowed: 6 hours per renewal cycle
  • Must complete 4 hours of technical skills in x-ray or adjustive techniques; and 4 hours in HIV/Aids, infectious diseases; boundary training; Nebraska scope; lab testing and interpretation; physical, neurological and orthopedic exam; fraud prevention; rehab; ethics; or use of unlicensed personnel.  Maximum 8 hours CE per day.  Does not pre-approve; acceptable programs/activities available on NE website (page 17).

Nevada

36 hours per 2 year renewal cycle

  • Distance Allowed: 36 hours per renewal cycle
  • No practice-building or insurance-billing

New Hampshire

20 hours per 2 year renewal cycle

  • Distance Allowed: No more than 25% of the total hours (currently 5 hours per renewal cycle)
  • Business courses specifically excluded; maximum 10 hours credit per day.

New Jersey

30 hours per 2 year renewal cycle

  • Distance Allowed: 12 in asynchronous distance learning; or 30 in synchronous distance learning
  • 2 hours in state laws regarding ethics or record keeping; 2 hours in nutrition education; maximum 10 hours of CE per day

North Carolina

18 hours per 1 year renewal cycle

  • Distance Allowed: 8 hours per renewal cycle
  • 2 hours in coding; 2 hour in compliance; 2 hours in documentation; 2 hours in ethics; 2 hours in sexual boundaries; 2 hours in NC jurisprudence every 5 years

North Dakota

20 hours per 1 year renewal cycle

  • Distance Allowed: 20 hours per renewal cycle
  • 4 hours of professional boundaries every 3 years; for licensees authorized to practice acupuncture, 2 hours of acupuncture CE required

Ohio

36 hours per 2 year renewal cycle

  • Distance Allowed: 36 hours
  • 2 hours on ethics or professionalism, human trafficking awareness, laws and rules of the board
  • Topics related to billing and coding, risk management, malpractice defense, legal courses, and practice building are not eligible for CE

Oregon

20 hours per 1 year renewal cycle

  • Distance Allowed: 20 hours per renewal cycle
  • All first time licensees and those changing status from inactive to active must complete 4 hours in over-the-counter non-prescriptive substances

Rhode Island

60 hours per 3 year registration cycle

  • Distance Allowed: 30 hours per registration cycle
  • 50 hours in clinically-related courses

South Carolina

36 hours per 2 year renewal cycle

  • Distance Allowed: 18 hours per renewal cycle
  • 2 hours SC rules and regs; 2 hrs risk management

South Dakota

40 hours per 2 years (January 1 to December 31)

  • Distance Allowed: 40 hours per 2 years; online courses MUST include an end of seminar quiz with at least a 70% passing score required.
  • DCs must maintain current CPR certification; 8 hours acupuncture required if certified.  

Tennessee

24 hours per 1 year

  • Distance Allowed: 6 hours per 1 year
  • 3 hours sexual boundaries training; 3 hours AIDS awareness/risk prevention (first year); For licensees with acupuncture certification, 6 hours of acupuncture are required. 
  • Philosophy is not allowed for CE

Utah

40 hours per 2 year renewal cycle

  • Distance Allowed: 10 hours per renewal cycle
  • No more than 4 hours of marketing or practice building; licensees who practice acupuncture must complete 10 hours of acupuncture

Vermont

24 hours per 2 year renewal cycle

  • Distance Allowed: 24 per renewal cycle
  • Practice management, finance, and philosophy prohibited

Virginia

60 hours per 2 year renewal cycle

  • Distance Allowed: Not specified
  • Minimum 30 hours in Type 1 (approved by board); maximum 30 hours Type 2 (not approved by board)

Washington

25 hours per 1 year renewal cycle

  • Distance Allowed: 12 hours per renewal cycle
  • Diagnosis and treatment of the spine or immediate articulations within the scope of practice; X-ray/diagnostic imaging; Adjustive technique; Detection of a subluxation; Physical examination; Hygiene; Symptomatology; Neurology; Pathology; Orthopedics; Patient/case management; Impairment within the scope of practice; CPR; Dietary and nutrition advice; and Chiropractic philosophy and business management (not to exceed a total of 8 hours)
  • 1-time requirement: 3 hrs suicide prevention screening

Wyoming

12 hours per 1 year renewal cycle

  • Distance Allowed: 4

Puerto Rico

45 hours per 3 years

  • Distance Allowed: 15

Nova Scotia

24 hours every 2 years

  • Distance Allowed: 6 hours every 2 years